2014 NEWS

A. G. M. Summary

·         Committee

o        As per 2013 - Captain Neil Powrie, Vice-Captain Lindsay Petrie, Secretary Martin McDevitt, members Gordon Currie & Forbes Catto.


·         Finances

o        A slight surplus last year - £133.77 - £706 in the bank.

o        Subscriptions remain at £45 - due now, overdue April 30th.


·         Membership

o        One resignation, Roy Nicoll.

o        Three new members: Steven Kinhart & Kenny Fraser are full members at Ladybank, Andy MacIlravey is on the waiting list - we wish them many years of membership.

o        Charlie Kenney is taking a year off on the Ladybank Medical List

o        Sandy Green returns after a year on the Medical List.


·         Knockout Competitions

o        Forbes Catto, Alistair Masson (for health reasons) are sitting out the Knockout competitions. 

o        Drop Dead Dates will again apply this year. NO exceptions. NO extensions.

o        Undecided ties will result in both parties being scratched.


·         Outing

o        June 6th to Forfar Golf Club 

o        Cost still to be determined - I’ll let you know when I know!


·         Member Responsibility 

o        Members have a duty to turn up when they enter a competition 

o        Please inform the Secretary when there's a problem.   

·         Round Robin (reminder)

o        Each member plays each other in matchplay (handicap = ¾ difference) at any time during the season.

o        Please mark result on the card or your dilatory secretary will miss it.  


·         Online Booking System

o        the new online booking system was highlighted as a potential problem in that other Ladybank members were able to book from midnight on a Saturday night one week ahead so that may impact on our ability to get successive times on a Sunday.


·         Calendar  

o        First Sunday is March 30th at 8:15am - Sweep.  22/4/14





It is with some regret that we record the passing of Honorary President Jack Suttie at the most impressive age of 98.


Jack, the last surviving member of the original Auchtermuchty Golf Club, was the “keeper” of various old trophies from that organisation which closed at the onset of World War II and never reformed. In 1979 Jack offered those trophies, mainly old silver medals from 1906 onwards, to the fledgling  Auchtermuchty Golfing Society (formed 1975). As a former two-time Captain of Ladybank Golf Club and well-respected local golfer, Jack was subsequently offered Honorary Life Membership of the Auchtermuchty Society.


Jack was elected Honorary President of the Society at some point prior to 1982 (note: the Minute Book is a bit unclear!) and served as Captain of the Society in 1988 & 1989. Over the years Jack won various Society competitions, namely:

1983 Doubles (with Colin Wallace);

1984 6 Best Cards;

1984 Singles Trophy

1984 Scratch Trophy at the Kinross Outing

1986 Doubles (with Bob Harrower);

1987 Doubles (with son Bill Suttie);

1988 Monthly Medal;

1991 Invitation Greensomes (with Charlie Kenney) when Jack was 76 years old.


Jack was buried on Monday 2nd December 2013 at Auchtermuchty with a respectable Society representation among the mourners. 2/12/13


14 pairs turned out for the 2013 Invitation Greensomes on a dry but blowy day. The winners of the Masson Salver were Stuart Lindsay & Scott Brown with a creditable score of 70½. In second place were former winners Gordon Currie and Keith Harrison with 71 and a further half stroke back were the third-placed Dave Balfour and Alan Cluckie. Vice Captain Lindsay Petrie bid all the guests welcome and made special mention of a couple of Society members who, he said, appeared to be friendless as they played together. Shame (not the remark, more the lack of friends. ed.). 2/9/13


The Society had a good Outing to Dunfermline Golf Club on Friday June 7th. With the Dunfermline Club having their annual Opens over the weekend the Pitfirrane course was in perfect condition although one or two were unimpressed with the punitive rough.


The day started really brightly but soon the forecast cloud rolled in and those already in shorts were doubting the wisdom of their selection, however a brilliant hot sunny afternoon proved their decision.

On the course Bill Suttie, Pete Smith and Doug McGilvray all enjoyed a very good morning along with visitor Steven Kinhart. In the afternoon McGilvray repeated his morning 75 to win the Scratch competition by a country mile. Smith returned a net 76 to follow his earlier 74 to claim the Handicap Shield by one shot. Doug McGilvray proved too good for everyone in the Stableford and his 34 points saw him 3 clear.

Ken Lang won Nearest the Hole in the morning, hitting his tee shot to within 4 feet of the cup. His companions were decidedly impressed with his ability to hole his second putt for a par three. Dave Balfour won the prize in the afternoon and to his credit actually managed to hole his putt for a birdie two.

The full prize list was:





Doug McGilvray



Derek Laing



Graeme Drummond

167 (better inward half)





Pete Smith



Stuart Milne

151 (better inward half)


Bill Suttie






Doug McGilvray

34 points


Graeme Drummond



Ken Lang

30 (better inward half)

Nearest the hole




Ken Lang



Dave Balfour


Visitor Prizes




Steven Kinhart

68 Stableford points


Scott Brown



Jim Tudhope  


Muppet of the Year – a new category – was Ken Lang as a result of his adventures on the last hole. The Most Golf Played resulted in Iain Clunie being awarded the much-coveted Yellow Jersey.

Other prize-winners were: Forbes Catto, Iain Clunie, George Cook, Gordon Currie, Brian Imrie, Charlie Kenney, John Kerr, Stuart Lindsay, Martin McDevitt, Roy Nicoll, Lindsay Petrie & John Vance.   8/6/2013